CHAIRMAN Amy L. Ignatius

COMMISSIONERS Robert R. Scott Martin P. Honigberg

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Debra A. Howland

STATE OF NEW HAMPSHIRE



PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION 21 S. Fruit St., Suite 10 Concord, N.H. 03301-2429 DE 17-410

TDD Access: Relay NH 1-800-735-2964

Tel. (603) 271-2431

FAX No. 271-3878

Website: www.puc.nh.gov

NHPUC 18MAR 14PM4:22

March 18, 2014

Debra A. Howland NH Public Utilities Commission 21 South Fruit Street, Suite 10 Concord NH 03301

RE: Electric Assistance Program – EAP Advisory Board Program Design Recommendations

Dear Ms. Howland:

Enclosed please find recommendations from the EAP Advisory Board regarding the use of accumulated monies in the EAP fund held by the State Treasurer. The Advisory Board reviewed a number of options for significantly reducing the funds held by the State Treasurer on behalf of the EAP. The changes proposed would be in effect for a minimum of 24 months during which the Advisory Board will be monitoring the EAP fund closely.

The Advisory Board commits to providing the Commission with subsequent recommendations regarding the long term sustainability of the EAP sufficiently in advance of the conclusion of the 24 months. The EAP Advisory Board also requests the Commission consider the current recommended program design changes in whatever manner is most expeditious so that low income households can benefit from the changes as soon as is possible.

Sincerely,

Amanda O. Noonan

On Behalf of the EAP Advisory Board

Raymond, Margaret

Contact Group Name:

EAP Advisory Board

Members:

amy.marler@nu.com
Beaulieu, Carole
Brenda Inman (inmanb@nhec.com)
Clint Hutchins (hutchinsc@nhec.com)
Cynthia Trottier
Dan Feltes
Dianne Pitts
Eckberg, Stephen R.
Kate Agin
Kathleen Orrick (Kathleen.Orrick@nstar.com)

Lovett, Celeste Lynda Dow Martin, Christina Matthew Minghella Noonan, Amanda OEP EAP email address Ralph Littlefield Rohnstock, Bob Shannon Nolin Sheehy, Lisa Sue Corson amy.marler@nu.com
beaulieuc@unitil.com
inmanb@nhec.com
hutchinsc@nhec.com
trottcm@NU.COM
dfeltes@nhla.org
dianne@thewayhomenh.org
Stephen.Eckberg@oca.nh.gov
aginkt@nu.com

Kathleen.Orrick@nstar.com
celeste.lovett@nh.gov
stampins@metrocast.net
Christina.Martin@oca.nh.gov
matthew.minghella@libertyutilities.com
Amanda.Noonan@puc.nh.gov
eap.oep@nh.gov
RLittlefield@BM-Cap.org
Bob.Rohnstock@puc.nh.gov
snolin@BM-Cap.org
SheehyL@nhec.com
Corson@unitil.com